Unit of Competency: SITXFSA001A – Implement Food Safety Procedures

The focus of SITXFSA001A – Implement Food Safety Procedures is on safe food handling practices in accordance with the food safety program of the organisation.
Unit of Competency: SITXFSA001A – Implement Food Safety Procedures
June 30, 2016

Unit SITXFSA001A was replaced with unit SITXFSA201. Unit of Competency SITXFSA201 has been superseded by SITXFSA002: Participate in safe food handling practices. This Unit of Competency Guide is here for reference as some state and territory government websites still refer to the old unit codes.

Food Safety Supervisor training is industry specific. When you complete your training you will be awarded a Statement of Attainment containing units of competency relevant to your industry. This series of Unit of Competency guides is designed to tell you more about the units of competency that you will be awarded.

For a full list of industries and their associated units of competency please see our Food Safety Supervisor Industry Overview.


In many states throughout Australia, it is mandatory to have a Food Safety Supervisor in any business that handles food on a daily basis. The combination of SITXFSA001A with SITXOHS002A provides this qualification for those in the retail and hospitality sectors.

The focus of this unit of competency is on safe food handling practices in accordance with the food safety program of the organisation. It considers in detail HACCP principles and explores methods in which to safely prepare, handle and store food, as well as how to keep the work environment clean and tidy. Waste and pest control are important components of this unit.

Unit Descriptor

This unit describes the performance outcomes, skills and knowledge required to handle food safely during the storage, preparation, display, service and disposal of food within a range of service industry operations. It requires the ability to follow predetermined procedures as outlined in an organisation food safety program.

This unit is one of three hierarchical units describing varying levels of participation in food safety processes:

  • SITXOHS002A Follow workplace hygiene procedures
  • SITXFSA001A Implement food safety procedures
  • SITXFSA002A Develop and implement a food safety program.

Food safety is nationally legislated by the Food Standards Australia New Zealand Act 1991 which provides for the operation of a statutory authority known as Food Standards Australia New Zealand.

The Australia New Zealand Food Standards Code (the Code) developed by this authority contains an individual standard for food safety practices. This unit of competency complies with the legislative requirements for food safety and safe food handling practices as outlined in the Code.

The legislative requirement for a business to comply with the national standard for food safety practices, along with training and certification requirements, differ between state and territory governments.

In some cases, food handlers and especially designated food safety supervisors may be required to formally achieve competence in implementing safe food handling practices through a registered training organisation that must use this unit as the basis for their training.

Click here to download the full unit outline (Adobe PDF Format)

Other Unit of Competency Guides

For your convenience, the complete list of current Unit of Competency guides is provided below: