7 Steps to Becoming a Food Safety Supervisor

This guide outlines the seven steps that you need to take to become a qualified Food Safety Supervisor.
7 Steps to Becoming a Food Safety Supervisor
June 30, 2016

There are a number of steps you need to take in order to become qualified as a Food Safety Supervisor. Food Safety Supervisors perform a vital function in keeping our communities safe and are a legal requirement for many food businesses in Australia.

Step 1

First, you’ll need to determine what units you’ll need to take for your Food Safety Supervisor course. To do this, please consult this Food Industry Reference Guide to:

  • Check what food industry your food business belongs to
  • Match your food industry against the Food Safety Supervisor units you’ll need to take

Step 2

Second, look for a course that fits your needs. When choosing a Food Safety Supervisor course, always make sure you look for a reputable company that offers a nationally recognised, accredited course for your industry sector. If you haven’t already, check out this information about choosing a high quality Food Safety Supervisor course for some handy tips.

Step 3

Check with your chosen training organisation that:

  • The course is nationally recognised
  • It covers the units of competency that you require
  • It meets the requirements for your state or territory

Step 4

Enrol in your chosen course. Make sure you check how long your course will be valid for.

Step 5

Make sure that you’ve completed all required components for the course, including any practical components.

It is a legal requirement that you are observed practising food safety in order to achieve Food Safety Supervisor recognition. At AIFS, we do this through Observer Reports. These are forms that you ask someone you've worked with in a food handling capacity (past or present) to complete about tasks that they've likely already seen you doing.

Step 6

Check if you need to nominate yourself as the Food Safety Supervisor for your business. To learn more about the specific requirements for your State or Territory see below:

Step 7

Depending on which State or Territory you live in, you may need to update your qualification every five years.